Confused

I’m very confused at the moment. Thinking of how far you should go to reach something and if everything is a process? I mean, when is it enough? I have a goal, yes, but is it the right time for me to reach it? Or is it never the right time? Starting up your own business is definitely a process and a fight in many ways. You have to prove yourself over and over again and along the way, there will be so many no, no and no. But one day, someone will say yes, right? And what I mean with all this is for how long should you wait until this person cross your way?

I admire anyone being in my situation. I admire myself for taking this decision and become my own boss. The strength needed is just enormous and sometimes, it is easy to just want to give up. At those moments, you have to think back on WHY you did this from the first place and how far you are from reaching your goal.
But also, you should consider the sacrifices you have made and will make and if it is worth it?

When I’m writing this, I feel… it is worth it! What do you think? Have you been in my situation, if you have, what is your advice?

1 Comment

Filed under July

One response to “Confused

  1. Martin

    Let me first say, I really admire your brave decision! I mean, new country, culture, etc.
    I’m writing this, not as some universal truth in any way. I’m in some sort of same position as you.
    I started my own business five years ago. I only work with part time for now. Some years have been tough, money wise, etc., others, crazy busy. There is the periods of time when nothing happends and the periods where everything has to be done at the same time. This is something that can be very stressfull, the feeling that you don’t control your own time.
    I don’t think it’s healthy to try to reach to high goals at first, instead try to set some checkpoints along the way, and feel good about yourself for them! It’s easy to be to hard on yourself, but I belive this will only make your doubts worse. I often try to stop and reflect on the things that I’ve done, instead of just rushing towards the “master goal”. I think that you really have to enjoy the way getting there, and allow it to take time!
    But some days the only mantra that keep you going is: “It’s never too late to give up…”

    If this is something you need to do, maybe the sacrifices will be easier to make?

    If this is something you need to do, maybe the fights will be easier to take?

    If this is something you need to do, it’s absolutely worth it!

    If this is something you need to do, you just have to try!

    But, I often feel the awfull doubts and that I’m not enough. But there’s NOTHING creative about doubts, they only makes ideas into bad ideas, before we even tried them. Doubts is not in anyway to be confused with analyzing thou, but it can be a thin line.

    The thing I think is the hardest, is that you’re alone in everything. Decisions, conflicts, contracts, marketing, etc. And no one will salute you for your work, you’ll have to be your own boss, in a way. It can also be hard to come up with new ideas for the future when you have to be so focused on the present.

    I don’t feel that I sacrified a lot, cause this is it, this is what I want to do. And, I love the idea of, some day, doing what I really want to do, for the rest of my life! But I’m still open for the possibility that this might change.

    For me, it’s absolutely worth it!

    //M

Leave a Reply

